Election Results and Recommendations from the Elections and Nominations Committee

The Elections and Nominations Committee has met to accept the results from the Intelivote election held on September 29th between 8:00 am and 8:00 pm in the CBVRCE, CCRCE and HRCE. At the Board of Directors meeting on October 1st, 2020 the Election and Nominations Committee presented the following elected, acclaimed or appointed candidates. These positions will be ratified by the membership at this year’s Annual General Meeting.

Board of Director Election Results

  • Cape Breton Victoria Regional Centre for Education
    Michelle Coleman - Vice-Principal, Riverview High School - Elected
  • Chignecto Central Regional Centre for Education
    Scott Armstrong - Principal, South Colchester Academy - Elected
  • Halifax Regional Centre for Education
    Jen Murray - Principal, Eastern Shore District High - Elected
    Tim Simony - Former Principal Halifax West High School - Elected
  • Strait Regional Centre for Education
    Mike MacIsaac - Principal, St. Mary’s Education Centre/Academy - Acclaimed

Board of Director Appointments

  • Directors by Appointment
    Paul Landry - Regional Executive Director of Education, SRCE
    Sabitha Masih - Principal, Cunard Junior High, HRCE
    Stacy Thorburn - Vice-Principal, South Queens Middle School, SSRCE

Current Board of Directors Continuing in their Terms (2019-2021)

  • Annapolis Valley Regional Centre for Education
    Maria Carty - Coordinator of Programs and Student Success Planning
  • Chignecto Central Regional Centre for Education
    Steve Wells - Principal, Cyrus Eaton Elementary
  • Conseil scolaire acadien provincial
    Marc Poirier - Directeur, École secondaire de Clare
  • Director representing members of African Descent
    Karen Hudson - Principal, Auburn Drive High School, HRCE
  • Director representing members of Indigenous Ancestry
    Miranda Gould - Coordinator of Mi'kmaw Services, SRCE
  • Director by appointment
    Ron Muller - Principal, Baddeck Academy, CBVRCE
  • Halifax Regional Centre for Education
    Kelly MacLeod - Principal, Lockview High School
  • South Shore Regional Centre for Education
    John Doucette - Vice-Principal, Parkview Education Centre
  • Tri-County Regional Centre for Education
    Derek Lesser - Coordinator of Community Learning and International Services