Update: PSAANS Board of Directors Elections and Appointments 2023

Notification of Appointments:

The Nominations and Elections Committee has met to determine the appointments following the election. Results of the appointment process:

  • One Director representing members of African Descent:
    • Sheldon States, Principal, West Hants Middle School, AVRCE
  • Up to two additional (with no minimum) Director positions from the membership to increase the diversity of the Board:
    • Mamoona Brace, Principal, Caldwell Road Elementary, HRCE
    • Maria Carty, Coordinator of Student Achievement, Assessment and Mathematics, AVRCE

SSRCE ELECTION RESULT - September 27, 2023

On Wednesday, September  27, 2023, an election was held for one director seat representing the South Shore Regional Centre for Education

We wish to congratulate Stacy Thorburn, Principal of Dr. John C. Wickwire Academy on her election to the PSAANS Board of Directors.

By Acclamation:

The following seats have been acclaimed:

  • Annapolis Valley Regional Centre for Education: (1 seat)

    • Isaac Schurman - Principal St. Mary’s Elementary

  • Chignecto-Central Regional Centre for Education: (2 seats)

    • Kathy Weatherbee - Principal, Truro Elementary

    • Steve Wells - Principal, Cyrus Eaton Elementary School

  • Conseil scolaire acadien provincial: (1 seat)

    • Marc Poirier - Directeur, École secondaire de Clare

  • Halifax Regional Centre for Education: (2 seats)

    • Keri Butler, Vice-Principal, J. L. Ilsley High School

      Kelly MacLeod, Principal, Lockview High School

  • Director representing members of Indigenous Ancestry (1 seat)

    • Theresa Nickerson, Vice-Principal, Elmsdale District Elementary

Board of Director Ratification:

Ratification of the complete Board of Directors will be made by a regular motion at the Annual General Meeting on Tuesday, October 17, 2023, at 4:00 p.m.